5 things I am grateful for

Ok. I know I’m not only a couple of weeks late for a thankfulness post (at least here in Canada) but I’m also a couple of weeks behind in the #bcedbloggers challenge. I don’t know why it’s been hard for me to focus my thoughts lately but I figure reflecting on a few things that are wonderful in my life is a good thing to focus on.

1. My Family. I know this seems like an obvious one, but I often feel like the luckiest person on earth to have my husband and daughter in my life. For more than half of my existence on this planet, my husband Todd and then my daughter Hayley have brought love, fun, laughter and joy to my life. Every. Single. Day.

2. Canada. It’s hard not to take a place for granted, or even complain from time to time, when you’ve lived there all your life. My family and I took a 6 year hiatus from Canada in the early 2000s and have been back for 7 years now. Being Canadian is a true gift, not only in the way of life that we enjoy but also in the values we hold and the respect our citizens have earned around the world. I try to appreciate this wonderful country, flaws and all, every day.

3. Books. I can’t imagine a day without a good book. I start and end my day, eat most of my meals, and spend a lot of my free time wrapped up in a book. They provide my mind with nourishment. They are a necessity.

4. My work. As a principal I have so many things to be thankful for. I have the chance to be inspired and energized by the curiosity and enthusiasm of children every day. I get to learn from and with a group of wildly different yet commonly dedicated educators. I receive the trust and support of the families of our students, and of our district’s senior management team. I have opportunities to follow my own interests and passions as well. And whenever I have a bad day I will reread this paragraph and remember why I am thankful for it!

5. Trees. The forest is my happy place. I am so lucky to live in a city and a province so rich with green spaces, BIG green spaces, and where they are valued and protected. Whether it’s on a walk with my dogs, or out for a run, or hiking with Todd up a new (to us) trail on an adventure, the forest restores something in my soul every time I breathe in.

Thanks to the other members of the blogging challenge for keeping my efforts going. I am grateful to you too!

One thought on “5 things I am grateful for

  1. Carol,

    I love all the things for which you are thankful! I too, am thankful for many of the same things.
    We are so fortunate to get the opportunity to make such a difference in the education of our young students, staff members, and family members. Not only that, we have the joy of being inspired by them all as well. How fortunate!

    I hope you enjoy your week!

    Tia

Leave a Reply

